Late strike by Makapa handed Liphakoe win

September 30, 2018

A dramatic last gasp strike from superb Makapa has earned Liphakoe FC a  1-0 victory over Galaxy Football Club at Liphakoe FC ground to send the maroon and gold clear in fifth on the Econet Premiere League ladder.

A late goal from super-star Tsepang Makapa sealed a hard-fought 1-0 victory for Liphakoe FC over the newly promoted side Galaxy FC in Sunday evening home at Liphakoe FC ground.

With 92 minutes on the clock, Tsepang Makapa displayed no signs of fatigue, bursting into the area from the left and drilling a high effort into the upper corner to secure a dramatic victory.

Galaxy were on the back foot early on and were lucky to survive an early scare from Tsepang Makapa in the first minutes whose shot was denied by the Galaxy goalkeeper from a killer pass by debutante Lehlohonolo Matsau.

However, the best chance of the opening half fell to the hosts when Thabo Matsoele’s pinpoint delivery from the left picked out the unmarked Moeketsi Sephiri, but he contrived to side foot across the face of goal and wide of the far post.

The second half began in similar fashion, with Liphakoe looking dominant and Galaxy making the biggest wall of china packing its block to deny maroon and gold a goal scoring opportunity.

Liphakoe FC made tactical changes in the second half of the game bringing in Thaane Mokoena  for Neo Skosana, Letuka Mokhochane for Moeketsi Sephiri  and Relebohile Moloinyane substituting Rethabile Letseka.

Mokhochane made his first appearance for 2018-19 season coming as a wing back ,he made a long range shot saved by Galaxy goalkeeper who made a second save from a rebound that caught Mokoena in a box. Mohau Rammoneng’s set piece strike was hit the post to deny Liphakoe a goal.



Chaba Tankiso,Rethabile Letseka(Relebohile Moloinyane),Thabo Matsoele,Thaane Mokhehle,Basia Letuka,Lehlohonolo Matsau,Tseole Ranthimo,Tsepang Makapa,Neo Skosana(Thaane Mokoena),Mohau Rammoneng,Moeketsi Sephiri(Letuka Mokhochane).

SUBS:Letuka Mokhochane,Monyobo Mosebo,Poloko Khalane,Thaane Mokoena,Thato Dlamini,Thato Moabi,Relebohile Moloinyane.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *